Chapter "Herstory"

Sigma Sigma Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alapha Sorority, Inc. waas chartered on May 20, 1990 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma with twenty-nine affiliating members.  The Mid-Western Regional Director at that time was Wesslyne A. Simpson.

The Charter Members were:

Barbara Roberts          Betty Easlick          Brenda Roberson          Carolyn Gray          Charolottie Young          Cheryl Fowler

Connie Wilson            Denise A. Blair      Edwina Redd                Evelyn D. Shelley     Floyzell Stevenson           Glenda L. Brewer

Iris H. Green               Jewel D. Bruner     Karolyn Ruffin              Lena Threatt           Linda Mason                  Lonzetta Dukes

Loveta Hammond         Nan Franklin         Nancy J. Banks             Norma James          Payeonlyne Doster          Portia Parker

Ramona Kellam           Sheila J. Brown       Sherol N. Darco           Tanya Mustin          Valerie Thompson

Armed with determination and the combined strength and talents of a dedicated sisterhood, the 29 sorors of Sigma Sigma Omega Chapter began their mission of "Service to all mankind." Nan Franklin served as the first President for the chapter.  Other Presidents included: Denise Blair, 1991 - 1992, Linda Mason, 1992 - 1995 and Betty Easlick, 1995 - 1997.  In 1992, the Ivy AKAdemy was organized and opened at Western Heights Curriculum/ Special Services Building located at North Council Road and Melrose, in Oklahoma city.  The AKAdemy offered tutorial services for elementary students from 1992 -1994. 

In January 2000, nine member reactivated Sigma Sigma Omega Chapter under the leadership of our 25th Mid-Western Regional Director Brenda Lewis Mumford. 

The nine members who reactivated Sigma Sigma Omega Chapter were:
Eneshal Borders        Angela Burnett          Daria Dean            LaToya Gammon         Armisha Walker Harrison       Michelle Purvey      Elicia Richardson
Sonja Singleton         Jamila Woodard